pure mental experience

Thus if I as a phenomenologist wish to deal with pure mental experience
and only with it, if I wish to take the life of my consciousness <Bewusstseinsleben> in its own pure essentiality as my universal and consistent theme and to make it a field for purely phenomenological experiences, then I certainly must leave out of account the totality of the concrete world which was and is continuously accepted in its being by me in my natural, straightforward living; I must thematically exclude it as outside the being of the mental. That is to say: as phenomenologist I may not in my descriptive practice, in the practice or exercise of pure experience of something mental, I may not exercise in a natural way my believing in the world; rather in further consequence I must dispense with all the position-taking which plays its natural role in the natural, practical life of my consciousness.

THE AMSTERDAM LECTURES <ON> PHENOMENOLOGICAL PSYCHOLOGY

Leave a comment